Very Hot Topic (More than 25 Replies) Relational / Combo-Box Programming help? (Read 5337 times)
NWade

No personal text

Relational / Combo-Box Programming help?
Jul 7th, 2004 at 3:02am
Print Post Print Post  
Okay all,

I'm brand new to Sesame - am having to work on it for a client; but I've been a PHP/mySQL and MS-SQL junkie for the last 2 years...  So SBASIC is all new to me, and I'm having to mentally re-adjust to the limited access and methods that Sesame uses to access the DB.

I'm trying to implement something that SHOULD be possible, but I'm not sure what the best method is to implement it...  I have a Database of family members, and I want to create what I would term in SQL as a "foreign key" relationship between records.  Tips, suggestions, or advice are certainly appreciated!

Basically, I have a numeric field "personID" to uniquely identify each person/record (a "primary key" in SQL terms).  I also have the field "fatherID" - the idea being that this field will refer to an existing "personID" record if that person's father is already in the database, so that parent/child relationships can be tracked.

However, I don't want to require the users to remember the actual ID numbers - so I was hoping to display a list-box or combo-box in the form, and have it populate (On Form Entry) with the names of all of the males currently in the database.  When a selection is made, the ID number of that person could be stored in the "fatherID" field; and on future viewings, the name of the selected "father" could be automatically retrieved and displayed on the form.