Normal Topic What do you do? (Read 2438 times)
The Cow
YaBB Administrator

What do you do?
Apr 12th, 2004 at 4:09pm
Print Post Print Post  
I guess most of you don't have too much trouble guessing what Erika, Ray, or I do for a living... But we often wonder what you folks do. And is your use of Sesame/Q&A related to your work, or is it part of a hobby, etc...?

Mark Lasersohn&&Programmer&&Lantica Software, LLC
IP Logged

TJCajun

"Laissez les bons temps
rouler"

Re: What do you do?
Reply #1 - Apr 12th, 2004 at 4:59pm
Print Post Print Post  
I've been a forensic chemist for almost 29 years, and am a lab director of a crime lab.  The lab secretary and myself use Q&A (since about 1990 - starting with v2.0) for several small database needs such as mailing lists, vacation/sick leave records, etc.  These are "unofficial" apps., as our main office keeps the "official" records, but Q&A makes it quick and easy to get things done.  We have not converted to Sesame - yet.   Our lab system uses other software for its Laboratory Information Management System.

I use Q&A at home to keep up with various "hobby" type apps such as video/music collection, mailing lists, high school graduating class info, and so forth.  I've not spent enough time with Sesame to have converted my Q&A stuff yet, but that's in the near future, I hope!

IP Logged

JFisher

No personal text

Reply #2 - May 9th, 2004 at 2:33pm
Print Post Print Post  
I am an IBM retriree.  (IBM = I've Been Moved.) I worked in service, engineering and management for 28 years, and retired in 1987.
Now in New Mexico, I have three Q&A clients who are being converted to Sesame.  I have been a user rather than a programmer (except for Q&A), so Sesame buildup is slow.
We appreciate the caring attitude of the Lanticans.
Thanks
Jack

IP Logged

Kerinst

If you can't do it right
lemme do it wrong for
you

Reply #3 - Jun 22nd, 2004 at 1:07pm
Print Post Print Post