Normal Topic Best way to proceed? (Read 803 times)
Infinity
Members

Diagonally parked in a
parallel dimension

Best way to proceed?
Dec 30th, 2005 at 2:49pm
Print Post Print Post  
Since I'm just learning how to use Sesame, I'm taking things one step at a time, and working on individual databases, getting the look of the forms set the way I like it, entering the programming, etc.  I've already merged two databases into a single application and they seems to be working well together.

I'd like some general advice on the best way to approach all this before I get too far and find myself in a trap.  I'm still having some trouble with the nomenclature distinguishing "Application" from "Database" from "Form" and "Field", especially as to how they all tie together when programming lookups.

One specific question is this...if I write a lookup or @lookup to retrieve values from, say, Zipcode.db (which exists as it's own application) will I need to re-write it all when I move Zipcode.db into the umbrella application, which contains the forms which reference it?

Here's the tree structure of an application/database I'm working on: http://captaininfinity.us/tree.jpg.  The name of the file that opens this is equipmnt.db.  The application is named EQUIPMNT.  The database is named EQUIPMENT.  And it contains two forms, Equipment and Lookups.  Am I understanding that all correctly?

When I merge this into my main application, am I correct in understanding that the database EQUIPMENT and the two forms are the only things that are important?  If so, should I ever, anywhere in the programming of other database forms in my main application, reference equipmnt.db or the application EQUIPMNT?

Am I proceeding in the best manner?  Or should I translate all my Q&A databases right away, merge them all into a single application, and <b>then</b> do the programming?

Any help getting this through my thick skull would be appreciated?

Captain Infinity
IP Logged

Infinity
Members