Normal Topic Is Sesame the right tool ... (Read 1246 times)
ggathens

No personal text

Is Sesame the right tool ...
Jun 27th, 2005 at 7:39pm
Print Post Print Post  
I am a Sesame newbie.

I have an existing database application written in Cobol with 70 files, 500 programs and 300.000 data records (annual).

It works fine in network environment with 8 PC (MS-DOS window)  and a dedicated Windows Server 2003.

I have recently purchased  Sesame Personal V1. for evaluation use. After 10 days of evaluation,  I am sure that Sesame has no problem with greek fonts (it is very important for me). 

So, I would like to use it as a development tool (upgrade in client/server version) to transfer all the above (data + programs).

This is a big project and I have to know if Sesame is the right tool (speed and volume of data) to do that. 

IP Logged

The Cow
YaBB Administrator

Re: Is Sesame the right tool ...
Reply #1 - Jun 28th, 2005 at 8:07pm
Print Post Print Post  
Make sure you have lots of RAM in your server to ensure that the volume of data is not a problem.

Do you have any way of calculating how many bytes of data you have total?

Mark Lasersohn&&Programmer&&Lantica Software, LLC
IP Logged

ggathens

No personal text

Reply #2 - Jun 29th, 2005 at 6:48pm
Print Post Print Post  
As an effort to explain the above:

The application consists of 5 Modules:
General Ledger, Accounts Receivable, Accounts Payable, Inventory Control, Invoicing Control.

The total file size is about 150MB annually.

Approximately 65% of this size, that is 98MB, is distributed to 2 of the 70 files.

The first one includes General Ledger Transactions (details), has a record size of 236 bytes and represents the 45% of the 98MB, which is 44MB. The second one includes Inventory Transactions (details), has a record size of 253 bytes and represents the 55% of the 98MB, which is 54MB.